Tractive Cat Mini Review: Is the Smallest Cat Tracker Worth the Subscription?

Our expert-analysis review of the Tractive Cat Mini: its weight on a breakaway collar, how it behaves when a cat hides under a deck, what the subscription costs, and whether a cat tracker is worth it.

17 min read

Medically reviewed by Dr. Pippa Elliott, BVMS MRCVS · Last reviewed

A black and white cat sitting on a wooden fence post wearing a slim collar with a small grey tracker, garden behind

This article contains affiliate links. Webvet may earn a commission when you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.

The Tractive Cat Mini is a live GPS tracker built into a safety-release collar. For the right cat, it answers the question owners of outdoor cats ask at dusk: where is she now? Tractive lists it at 1.1 oz including the collar, rated for up to 7 days per charge, with a paid subscription required.

The Tractive Cat Mini model reviewed here is the one Chewy sells as the Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker Collar, Black. WebVet did not obtain the product, and no hands-on test or measurement was performed by WebVet. The verdict rests on expert analysis of the manufacturer's published specifications, the Chewy listing, and veterinary guidance.

No manufacturer or retailer paid for or reviewed this article. WebVet may earn a commission on Chewy links; that relationship did not influence the verdict.

Tractive Cat Mini at a glance: what it is and who it suits

The short verdict: the Cat Mini is light enough to ride on its own safety-release collar, it gives live GPS tracking only with a subscription, and a charge lasts longer the less live tracking you run while your cat roams. It suits cats of about 7 lb or more that already accept a collar.

A person's hand placing a tiny grey tracker beside a slim black breakaway cat collar on a wooden table
A person's hand placing a tiny grey tracker beside a slim black breakaway cat collar on a wooden table.

Size is the first thing to check, ahead of any GPS feature. Tractive designs the collar-integrated CAT 6 Mini for cats within a stated weight range, and the whole unit weighs 1.1 oz with its collar. Tractive's guidance on the low end of that range is unclear.

Key Takeaways
  • 1The Tractive Cat Mini is a live GPS tracker built into a safety-release collar, and it suits cats of 7 lb or more that roam outdoors and already accept a collar.
  • 2Weight comes first: 1.1 oz including the collar, for necks of 7.5 to 9.0 inches, so keep it on a breakaway or safety-release collar and check the fit often.
  • 3It works only with a paid plan; Tractive's plans page listed Basic at $108 for a 1-year term in October 2026.
  • 4The battery is rated for up to 7 days and drains faster with heavy live tracking, so plan a weekly charge.
  • 5Skip it for kittens and very small cats, or if you want no subscription.

Chewy listed the Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker Collar, Black at $69.55 in October 2026, while Tractive's own site listed the tracker at $49 plus a separate subscription. Chewy's listing describes a collar-integrated device for location tracking and health monitoring, with live GPS updates every two to three seconds and no distance limits.

Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker Collar, Black
From ChewyIn stock
Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker Collar, Black

Live GPS cat tracker built into a safety-release collar, 1.1 oz with the collar, rated for up to 7 days per charge.

$69.55

Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.

The Cat Mini suits cats and homes that match all of these:

  • Cats of 7 lb or more, the most conservative of the three minimum weights Tractive lists
  • Necks of 7.5 to 9.0 inches, the range the integrated collar fits
  • Cats that already tolerate a collar, because a tracker only helps while it stays on
  • Indoor-outdoor cats that roam beyond the range of Bluetooth tags, which Tractive puts at often under 100 meters
  • Homes inside 2G or LTE (CatM1) coverage from one of Tractive's 500+ partner networks

It is a poor match for:

  • Kittens and cats under 7 lb, since Tractive's page does not address kittens and its minimum weights conflict
  • Owners who want no subscription, since Tractive requires a plan for the built-in SIM card and data
  • Households that cannot charge the tracker at least once a week
  • Cats that will not keep a collar on; for supervised outdoor time on a leash, see our guide to the best cat harness options

Can you put a GPS tracker on a cat?

Yes, as long as the tracker suits the cat's size and rides on a collar that can release. Tractive builds the CAT 6 Mini into a safety-release collar for cats from about 7 lb. Collars are realistic for most cats: in a randomized trial of 538 cats, 72.7% wore one for the full six months.

The strongest predictors of success in that trial were the owner's initial expectation that the cat would tolerate a collar and the number of times the collar had to be put back on. Start with a collar your cat accepts, then add the tracker.

Is Tractive worth the money?

It depends on how far your cat roams and how much the subscription adds over time. At October 2026 prices, two years on Tractive's 2-year Basic plan come to $193 with the tracker bought from Tractive at $49, or $213.55 with Chewy's $69.55 tracker. Tractive says plan prices vary by location.

For a lower entry price, Chewy listed the Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker with Wellness Monitoring & Breakaway Collar, Brown at $24.50 in October 2026. Its listing calls it the Tractive Cat Mini GPS Tracker & Activity Monitor, with real-time tracking, activity monitoring, and virtual fences, and it still needs a Tractive plan.

Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker with Wellness Monitoring & Breakaway Collar, Brown
From ChewyIn stock
Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker with Wellness Monitoring & Breakaway Collar, Brown

Tractive cat tracker sold with a breakaway collar, with real-time tracking, activity monitoring, and virtual fence alerts.

$24.50

Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.

What the plan buys is a live map of a cat that roams out of sight. For an indoor cat that slips out only now and then, escape alerts still help, but the plan is paid whether or not the cat gets out.

Weight, collar fit, and the breakaway rule

Device weight is the first filter for any cat tracker, because the tracker only helps while your cat keeps wearing it. Tractive lists the CAT 6 Mini at 1.1 oz including the collar, and its comparison table gives a more exact 1.13 oz. Tractive publishes no tracker-only weight and no gram figure.

The low end of the weight range is where Tractive's own product page disagrees with itself. It lists three different minimum cat weights for the CAT 6 Mini:

  • 7 to 18 lb in the menu, the product selector, and the comparison table
  • 6.6 to 17.6 lb in the technical specs
  • 3 to 17.6 lb in the FAQ

This review uses the conservative 7 lb floor. In proportion, 1.1 oz is about 1% of a 7 lb cat's body weight and under 0.4% of an 18 lb cat's, but about 2.3% of a 3 lb kitten's. Tractive's cat page says nothing about kittens, so the 3 lb figure is no green light.

Tractive's page also compares two cat models, and the CAT 6 Mini is the lighter of the pair:

  • CAT 6 Mini: 1.13 oz with its collar, built into an integrated safety-release collar with a weight-adjustable safety buckle, for necks of 7.5 to 9.0 inches
  • CAT Mini: 1.48 oz with its collar, with a Rogz Safety Release Collar in the box, listed for cats above 7 lb in the menu or above 6.6 lb in the specs

Neither description uses the word breakaway, and Tractive does not publish the force at which either collar releases. Of the two Tractive cat listings on Chewy, only the Brown one names a breakaway collar. Learn how the safety buckle opens before the first fitting, so you can check the fit and remove the collar quickly.

If 1.1 oz feels like a lot for a lean cat, Pawfit lists its Pawfit Lite at 0.6 oz (17.6 g) for pets over 2.7 kg, about 6 lb. That figure does not mention a collar, so it is not a like-for-like match with Tractive's collar-included weight.

One randomized trial speaks directly to cats in collars. Lord and colleagues, writing in the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association in 2010, assigned 538 owned cats to a plastic buckle collar, a breakaway plastic buckle safety collar, or an elastic stretch safety collar for six months. What the abstract reports:

  • 391 of the 538 cats (72.7%) kept their collars on for as long as the study lasted, six months
  • 18 cats (3.3%) caught a front leg in the collar or caught the collar on an object or in the mouth
  • The abstract does not break those incidents down by collar type

The authors' advice is to choose a collar your cat will tolerate and to check it often for fit. With a tracker on board, that means:

  • Measure the neck before you buy; the CAT 6 Mini's collar fits 7.5 to 9.0 inches, and Chewy's listing opens with a reminder to measure for the perfect fit
  • Check the fit often, as the trial's authors advise, and again whenever your cat gains or loses weight
  • Expect to put the collar back on more than once; the number of reapplications was one of the two strongest predictors of success in the trial
  • Watch for a front leg working its way into the collar, one of the incidents the trial recorded

If your cat has never worn a collar, start with our guide to the best cat collars and add the tracker once the collar stays on.

What the Cat Mini does: live tracking, location history, and activity

Tractive describes the Cat Mini as live tracking without limits plus territory analysis, a picture of where your cat spends its time. Chewy's listing puts live GPS updates at every two to three seconds with no distance limits. The tracker connects over 2G and/or LTE (CatM1) coverage from Tractive's 500+ partner networks.

The core features, as Tractive and the Chewy listing describe them:

  • Live GPS tracking: a moving dot on your phone, updated every two to three seconds per Chewy's listing, for following a cat in real time
  • Safe zones and escape alerts: you set an area such as your yard and get an alert when the cat leaves it
  • Location history: 24 hours on the Basic plan and 365 days on Premium
  • Territory analysis: a view of the ground your cat covers over time
  • Activity and sleep monitoring: a daily record of how active your cat is and how it sleeps
  • Waterproofing: listed as 100% waterproof (IP68)

Feature for feature, the Pawfit Lite Cat GPS Tracker, Simply White is a lighter rival with a similar list. Its Chewy listing names real-time location updates, unlimited range, escape alerts, an LED light, and activity monitoring, with up to three days of battery life against the Cat Mini's rated 7 days.

Pawfit Lite Cat GPS Tracker, Simply White
From ChewyIn stock
Pawfit Lite Cat GPS Tracker, Simply White

Lighter cat GPS tracker at 0.6 oz per Pawfit, with escape alerts, activity monitoring, and up to three days of battery.

$49

Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.

Escape alerts tell you a cat has left the safe zone; they do not keep the cat in. For an indoor cat that bolts through the door, the alert shortens the gap between the escape and the search. If your cat keeps slipping out, see our guide for when my cat is trying to escape.

Location history is where the plans differ most. A 24-hour history shows last night's route, which covers a cat that came home late. A 365-day history lets you see how its territory shifts across the year.

The activity features are a bonus rather than the reason to buy. Chewy's listing adds vitals monitoring with alerts for unusual changes, while Tractive's page lists activity and sleep monitoring. Treat it as a record of your cat's routine, not a health check.

Accuracy for cats: backyards, porches, and under the deck

Tractive's product page heads this feature "Precise GPS Tracking & Territory Analysis" but gives no accuracy figure for the Cat Mini. Tractive's guide to how cat GPS trackers work says cat GPS trackers are usually accurate within 5 to 10 meters (16 to 33 feet), a general claim, not a result for this model.

A tabby cat with a collar tracker crouched under the edge of a wooden deck in a sunny garden
A tabby cat with a collar tracker crouched under the edge of a wooden deck in a sunny garden.

For a cat hiding close to home, 16 to 33 feet matters. A miss of that size can put the dot on the wrong side of a fence, or on a neighbor's porch instead of yours. Treat the map as the place to start searching, not the exact spot.

Tractive says accuracy can be affected by tall buildings, trees, and the quality of the cellular signal. Those factors stack up in the places a hiding cat tends to end up:

  • Under a deck or inside a shed, where the tracker sits beneath a structure; Tractive publishes no figure for spots like these
  • In a stand of trees or dense hedges; trees are one of the factors Tractive names
  • Between houses or tall buildings on a dense street
  • At the edge of town or anywhere with a weak cell signal, since the tracker reports over partner 2G or LTE (CatM1) networks

Tractive's guide frames these limits for cat GPS trackers in general, not only its own. The Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker, Black takes a similar GPS-plus-cellular approach: its Chewy listing describes built-in GPS that uses LTE data to pinpoint your pet's location in the Pebblebee app.

Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker, Black
From ChewyIn stock
Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker, Black

Rechargeable dog and cat tracker with built-in GPS that uses LTE data to show your pet's location in the Pebblebee app.

$66.37

Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.

When an escape alert fires, a simple routine makes the most of what the tracker can and cannot tell you:

  1. Open live tracking, which updates every two to three seconds, and follow the dot
  2. Check the location history for the route the cat took out of the safe zone
  3. Walk to the dot, then search a circle of about 16 to 33 feet around it
  4. Look at ground level under decks, porches, and sheds, where the map can only get you close

On a cold night that search matters more; see how cold is too cold for cats before you decide whether to wait for your cat to wander home.

Battery life and charging on a cat that comes and goes

Tractive lists up to 7 days of battery life for the CAT 6 Mini. Its guide says that figure depends on use: how often the tracker updates location and whether live tracking stays on. Tractive's 2022 announcement of its earlier LTE cat tracker made the same seven-day claim.

A small grey tracker with a green charge light beside a USB cable on a windowsill while a ginger cat sleeps under a blanket
A small grey tracker with a green charge light beside a USB cable on a windowsill while a ginger cat sleeps under a blanket.

Read 7 days as the ceiling. A cat that wanders every evening while you follow it on live tracking will need a charge sooner than a cat that dozes on the porch with live tracking off.

Tractive does not publish a charging time for the Mini, so time your first few charges and build the habit around what you see. A routine for a cat that comes and goes:

  • Charge on a fixed day each week, before the battery runs low, so a 7-day rating never runs to the wire
  • Charge while your cat is reliably indoors, such as overnight if it comes in at dusk
  • Save live tracking for the moments you need it, since Tractive ties battery life to how much the tracker is used
  • Time the first few charges so you know how long a full charge takes

If weekly charging sounds unrealistic for your household, the alternatives spread widely on battery:

Subscription cost and what the plan unlocks

The tracker price is only the entry fee. Tractive says the subscription price is separate from the tracker, and its guide explains that a subscription plan pays for the integrated SIM card and data use. Tractive's plans page listed these terms in October 2026, and Tractive says prices vary by location:

  • Basic, 1 year: $108, billed once at the start of the 12 months, about $9 a month
  • Basic, 2 years: $144, about $6 a month
  • Premium, 1 year: $120, about $10 a month
  • Premium, 2 years: $168, about $7 a month
  • Premium, 5 years: $300, about $5 a month

Premium includes live GPS tracking, activity and sleep monitoring, 365-day location history, and GPS data export. The one Basic limit the plans page spells out is location history, which drops to 24 hours.

Add the tracker and the totals look like this at October 2026 prices, with the tracker bought from Tractive at $49 or from Chewy at $69.55:

  • Two years on Basic: $193 or $213.55
  • Two years on Premium: $217 or $237.55
  • Five years on Premium: $349 or $369.55

Basic is enough if your goal is finding the cat today. Premium adds $12 a year on a 1-year term, which pays off only if you want a year of location history or a data export.

Shopping for a dog as well? Our Tractive dog GPS tracker review covers Tractive's dog models.

Does Tractive work without a subscription?

No. Tractive's blog says high-quality GPS cat trackers like Tractive require a subscription, and the plan is what pays for the tracker's built-in SIM card and data. Budget for it from day one: the lowest yearly figure on Tractive's plans page in October 2026 was $60, on the 5-year Premium term.

What is the monthly fee for Tractive?

On Tractive's plans page in October 2026, it worked out to $5 to $10 a month by plan and term: $9 or $6 for Basic on 1-year or 2-year terms, and $10, $7, or $5 for Premium on 1-year, 2-year, or 5-year terms. Tractive says monthly billing exists only for Basic plans in selected countries.

The starting price advertised on the Cat Mini's product page can differ from the plans page, so confirm the figure at checkout.

How much is a Tractive yearly subscription?

On a 1-year term, Tractive's plans page listed Basic at $108 and Premium at $120 in October 2026, each billed once at the start of the 12 months. Longer terms lower the yearly figure: $72 a year on the 2-year Basic plan, $84 a year on 2-year Premium, and $60 a year on 5-year Premium.

Tractive Cat Mini alternatives: Pawfit, Pebblebee, and AirTags

Each alternative changes a different part of the decision: Pawfit and Apple list lower device weights, Pebblebee and AirTag list longer battery life, and AirTag gives up a cellular link of its own. For the wider category, see our roundup of the best cat GPS trackers.

Two small key-fob style trackers of different sizes beside a yellow tape measure on linen
Two small key-fob style trackers of different sizes beside a yellow tape measure on linen.

Tractive's 1.1 oz includes its collar, while Pawfit and Apple list a device weight with no collar mentioned, so the lighter figures are not quite like for like. The breakaway question still applies to every option a cat wears on its neck.

TrackerDevice weightBatterySubscriptionCollar type
Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker Collar, Black (CAT 6 Mini)1.1 oz including the collarUp to 7 daysRequired; Basic listed at $108 a year on a 1-year term in October 2026Integrated safety-release collar with a safety buckle, necks 7.5 to 9.0 in
Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker with Wellness Monitoring & Breakaway Collar, BrownNot statedNot statedRequired Tractive planBreakaway collar included
Pawfit Lite Cat GPS Tracker, Simply White0.6 oz (17.6 g), no collar mentionedUp to 3 daysPlans offered; price not stated in the listingNot stated; for pets over 2.7 kg
Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker, BlackNot statedUp to 3 months per charge, per the Chewy listing30-day free trial, then listed at $72 a year on a 1-year plan in October 2026Not stated
Apple AirTag0.42 oz (11.8 g)More than a year on a replaceable batteryNo cellular link of its ownNone; Apple's page does not mention pets

How each alternative changes the decision:

  • Pawfit Lite Cat GPS Tracker, Simply White: lighter than the Cat Mini at 0.6 oz, listed by Pawfit for pets over 2.7 kg and at $49.00 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026. Its listing names escape alerts, an LED light, and activity monitoring, but a battery rated for up to three days means charging more than twice as often.
  • Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker, Black: a rechargeable tracker with built-in GPS that uses LTE data, sold for dogs and cats and listed at $66.37 on Chewy in October 2026. The same listing gave up to three months per charge, a 30-day free trial, and plans at $72 for 1 year, $120 for 2 years, or $144 for 3 years. Confirm its weight before fitting it to a small cat.
  • Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker with Wellness Monitoring & Breakaway Collar, Brown: listed at $24.50 on Chewy in October 2026, well below the Black collar's $69.55, with a breakaway collar in the product name. It still needs a Tractive plan.
  • Apple AirTag: 0.42 oz (11.8 grams) and more than a year on a replaceable battery, per Apple. It is located through the Find My network, which Apple says can draw on more than a billion iPhone, iPad, and Mac devices, and Apple's AirTag page does not mention pets.

Is Tractive better than AirTag?

For a cat that roams, Tractive has the edge on paper, because it carries its own cellular link and live GPS, while AirTag depends on nearby Apple devices detecting its Bluetooth signal. Tractive, which has an interest in this comparison, says most Bluetooth trackers do not use GPS at all.

AirTag wins on weight and battery: 0.42 oz against 1.1 oz with collar, and more than a year against up to 7 days. On a street full of iPhones that may be enough; for a cat that roams fields or woods, far from passing Apple devices, it is the weaker bet.

Is there a better cat tracker than Tractive?

Better depends on which limit bothers you most. The Pawfit Lite is lighter on paper, AirTag lasts far longer between batteries, and Pebblebee lists up to three months per charge with its own GPS and LTE link. Its listing gives no weight, though, and weight matters most on a small cat.

Our verdict on the Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker Collar, Black: a sound choice for cats of 7 lb or more that roam outdoors, accept a safety-release collar, and live within cellular coverage. Budget for a weekly charge and a plan Tractive listed at $108 a year on 1-year Basic in October 2026.

For kittens, very small cats, or owners who want no subscription, start with the alternatives.

Tractive Cat Mini questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the Tractive Cat Mini weigh?

Tractive lists the CAT 6 Mini at 1.1 oz including its collar, or 1.13 oz in its comparison table, which is about 31 to 32 grams. Tractive gives no gram figure and no weight for the tracker alone. That weight should hang on a breakaway or safety-release collar, never on a collar that cannot open.

Does the Tractive Cat Mini work indoors?

Tractive's product page does not state indoor performance for the Cat Mini, so it is not confirmed for this model. Tractive's guide says some of its trackers use Wi-Fi or Bluetooth indoors to improve accuracy when the GPS signal is weak.

The tracker also needs a 2G or LTE (CatM1) cellular signal to connect, so expect only an approximate location for a cat hiding deep inside a building.

How long does the Tractive Cat Mini battery last?

Tractive rates the battery at up to 7 days. That is the best case: Tractive says battery life depends on how often the tracker is used, so heavy live tracking shortens it. Charging at least once a week keeps you inside the rated days.

Can I use the Tractive Cat Mini without a subscription?

No. The Cat Mini connects over partner 2G or LTE (CatM1) cellular networks through a built-in SIM card, and Tractive says a subscription plan is required to cover that SIM and its data.

Tractive's guide to trackers without a subscription notes that Bluetooth-style trackers usually work within a short distance, often under 100 meters, which is the trade for skipping the plan.

Is the Tractive Cat Mini safe for kittens?

Tractive's cat page does not mention kittens, and it lists three different minimum cat weights for the CAT 6 Mini: 7, 6.6, and 3 lb.

The cautious reading is to wait until your kitten weighs at least 7 lb and its neck measures 7.5 to 9.0 inches, then fit the tracker on its safety-release collar and check the fit often as the cat grows.

Webvet Editorial Team

Editor

The Webvet Editorial Team is the in-house group of pet-care editors and writers behind Webvet, operated by Smart Pet Collective. The team researches, writes, and maintains Webvet's pet health, behavior, and medication content. Every article follows a defined editorial process: research from reputable veterinary and scientific sources, careful drafting, mandatory review of medical content by a credentialed veterinarian, and dated publication. Health and medication articles are medically reviewed by a licensed veterinary professional before they go live and are kept current over time.

Dr. Pippa Elliott

Veterinarian · BVMS MRCVS

Dr. Pippa Elliott, BVMS, MRCVS, is a veterinarian with nearly 30 years of experience in companion animal practice. Dr. Elliott earned her Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery from the University of Glasgow. She was also designated a Member of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons. Married with 2 grown-up kids, Dr. Elliott has a naughty Puggle named Poggle, 3 cats and a bearded dragon.

Related reading