Best GPS Tracker for Small Dogs and Puppies: Light Enough to Wear All Day
Vet-reviewed guide to GPS trackers for small dogs: the device weight rule for a 5 to 20 pound dog, collar and harness fit, what the subscriptions cost, and the trackers light enough for toy breeds and puppies.
Medically reviewed by Dr. Pippa Elliott, BVMS MRCVS ยท Last reviewed
This article contains affiliate links. Webvet may earn a commission when you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.
The best GPS tracker for small dogs, for most owners, is the Fi Mini GPS Smart Dog Collar, Black. At 16 g, per Fi, it has the lightest published weight here and fits collars and harnesses up to 1.25 in wide. The 17.6 g Pawfit Lite, listed at $49.00 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026, costs less up front.
Weight decides the pick for a small dog. A device that sits easily on a Labrador's collar is a much bigger load for a 7 lb dog or a 12 lb terrier, so check the device weight against your dog's weight before you compare maps, alerts, or apps.
We compared six trackers listed from $18.88 to $189.00 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026. Four of the six makers publish a device weight; for the other two, weigh the unit when it arrives.
| Tracker | Best fit | Device weight | Battery (listed figure) | Plan | Chewy listing, October 2026 | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fi Mini GPS Smart Dog Collar, Black | Small dogs on a collar or harness up to 1.25 in wide | 16 g (about 0.6 oz), per Fi | Up to 3 weeks per the listing; Fi says up to 2 months | Membership billed separately, from $99 per 6 months | $189.00 | Highest price here, plus a membership with a 6-month minimum |
| Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker with Vital Signs Monitoring, Dog Collar Attachment, Black | Dogs from 8.8 lb on a collar up to 1.1 in wide | 1.4 oz (about 40 g) | Up to 2 weeks with Power Saving Zones, up to 6 days without | Required, not included; about $5 to $10 a month depending on term | $79.00 | Not made for dogs under 8.8 lb, and it needs cellular coverage |
| Pawfit Lite Dog GPS Tracker, Onyx Black | Owners who want a low device price and unlimited range | 17.6 g (0.6 oz), per Pawfit | Up to 3 days | Sold separately; the Pawfit 3 page listed plans at $7.99 to $8.99 a month billed yearly | $49.00 | Up to 3 days per charge, one of the shortest battery figures here |
| Petcube Dog GPS Tracker & Activity Monitor | A 29 g tracker for dogs from about 6.5 lb | 29 g (about 1.0 oz) | Up to 30 days in low power mode | Required; Basic $12 a month or $84 a year | $39.99 | The plan is required and is not the cheapest monthly rate |
| Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker, Black | A small dog and a cat sharing one app | Not published | Up to 3 months per charge | $72 for 1 year, $120 for 2 years, or $144 for 3 years; 30 day free trial | $66.37 | No published weight to size it with |
| Tracki TrackiPet Smart GPS Dog Tracker, Slate | The lowest upfront spend | Not published; listing says lightweight | Up to 3 to 5 days in non-stop live tracking, per Tracki's FAQ | Not stated in the Chewy listing | $18.88 | No published weight to size it with |
Why small dogs need a different tracker
For a small dog, device weight decides the pick, and the collar decides whether it sits comfortably. Tractive, for example, sells the Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker with Vital Signs Monitoring, Dog Collar Attachment, Black for dogs nine pounds and up, and its Tractive product page starts its larger XL models at 44.1 lb.

The clearest number available comes from the makers themselves. Tractive pairs its 1.4 oz DOG 6 with dogs from 8.8 lb, which works out to the tracker weighing about 1 percent of the smallest dog it approves. We use that ratio as a working rule: keep the device at or under roughly 1 percent of your dog's body weight.
- 1A tracker sized for an average dog is a far bigger share of a 6 or 9 lb body, so check the device weight first.
- 2Keep the tracker at or under about 1 percent of body weight: 0.8 oz for a 5 lb dog, 1.6 oz for a 10 lb dog, and 3.2 oz for a 20 lb dog.
- 3Of the published weights, the Fi Mini at 16 g and Pawfit Lite at 17.6 g are lightest; the Petcube at 29 g suits dogs from about 6.5 lb and the Tractive at 1.4 oz from 8.8 lb.
- 4Then match the mount to the collar width and budget for the subscription plan that Tractive and Petcube both require.
Under that rule, four trackers in this comparison can be sized with confidence today, because their makers publish a device weight:
- Fi Mini: the Fi Mini GPS Smart Dog Collar, Black weighs 16 g, about 0.6 oz, which clears the 1 percent line for dogs from about 3.5 lb; Fi does not publish a minimum dog weight.
- Pawfit Lite: the Pawfit Lite Dog GPS Tracker, Onyx Black weighs 17.6 g, about 0.6 oz, and Pawfit lists it for small dogs over 5.9 lb.
- Petcube: the Petcube Dog GPS Tracker & Activity Monitor weighs 29 g, about 1.0 oz, which clears the 1 percent line for dogs from about 6.5 lb.
- Tractive DOG 6: 1.4 oz, about 40 g, rated by Tractive for dogs from 8.8 lb.
- Pebblebee and Tracki: the Chewy listings for the Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker, Black and the Tracki TrackiPet Smart GPS Dog Tracker, Slate give no device weight.
For the two without a published weight, ask the seller or weigh the unit on a kitchen scale when it arrives. Size by the weight your dog is today, not the size you expect it to reach.
| Dog weight band | Device weight ceiling (about 1 percent) | Trackers that fit by device weight | Battery (maker figure) | Monthly cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Under 10 lb, about 5 to 6 lb | 0.8 to 1.0 oz (23 to 27 g) | Fi Mini at 16 g; Pawfit Lite at 17.6 g once the dog passes 5.9 lb | Fi Mini up to 2 months per Fi, up to 3 weeks per its listing; Pawfit Lite up to 3 days | Fi membership $99 per 6 months or $189 a year; Pawfit plans from $7.99 a month billed yearly |
| Under 10 lb, about 6.5 to 9 lb | 1.0 to 1.4 oz (29 to 41 g) | Fi Mini at 16 g, Pawfit Lite at 17.6 g, Petcube at 29 g; Tractive DOG 6 at 1.4 oz once the dog reaches 8.8 lb | Petcube up to 30 days in low power mode; Tractive up to 2 weeks with Power Saving Zones, 6 days without | Petcube $12 a month or $84 a year; Tractive about $5 to $10 a month by term |
| 10 to 20 lb | 1.6 to 3.2 oz (45 to 91 g) | Fi Mini, Pawfit Lite, Petcube, or Tractive DOG 6, all under the ceiling | Same as above; the larger Tractive XL models are not made for this size | Same as above |
| Growing puppy | Use the puppy's current weight, not its expected adult weight | Fi and Petcube publish no minimum; Pawfit starts above 5.9 lb and Tractive at 8.8 lb | Schedule charging for times you can supervise the puppy | Plan cost is the same as for an adult dog |
A tracker can also suit a dog by weight and still be wrong for its collar. Tractive's small unit fits collars up to 1.1 in wide, and the Fi Mini's attachment takes collars and harnesses up to 1.25 in wide, so measure the collar width as well as the dog.
What is the best way to track a dog's location?
Use a GPS tracker with its own cellular connection, worn on the collar or harness. Tractive, for example, has a built-in SIM and markets real-time updates and escape alerts when a dog leaves a safe zone you set. A Bluetooth tag relies on a nearby phone, so it suits short-range searches.
How much does it cost to put a GPS tracker in your dog?
A dog GPS tracker is not put inside the dog; every tracker here is worn on a collar or harness. The cost is the device plus a recurring plan, which Tractive charges separately. Petcube, listed at $39.99 on Chewy in October 2026, plus its $84 annual Basic plan comes to about $124 in year one.
Our picks: the best GPS trackers for small dogs and puppies
For larger dogs, see our best dog GPS trackers roundup. Here, each pick is judged on what matters for a small dog: weight, mount width, plan cost, and battery.
Fi Mini GPS Smart Dog Collar: best small-dog collar tracker

Compact GPS collar tracker with escape alerts across the USA; the attachment fits collars and harnesses up to 1.25 inches wide.
Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.
The Fi Mini is a compact GPS tracker with escape alerts, sold for use anywhere in the USA. Its Chewy listing says the attachment is made to fit most collars and harnesses up to 1.25 in wide, which covers narrow collars and small harnesses.
The listing calls the design lightweight, waterproof, and extra-durable, with a battery life of up to three weeks on a single charge. Fi's support center goes further: 16 g and 42 x 30 x 12.5 mm without attachments, which clears the 1 percent line from about 3.5 lb.
Fi rates the Mini IP68 and up to 2 months per charge. Its strap needs a collar or harness strap at least two inches long and 0.375 to 1.25 in wide. Fi listed membership at $99 every 6 months, $189 a year, or $339 for 2 years in October 2026, billed separately with a 6-month minimum.
- Who it suits: owners of small dogs who want a slim attachment that also works on a harness.
- The tradeoff: the most expensive pick, and the membership adds $189 a year on the annual plan.
- Price: listed at $189.00 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026, the highest price here.
- What to check on arrival: weigh the unit with its mount and compare it with your dog's weight band.
Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker: best clip-on live tracker for small dogs

Live GPS tracker for dogs from nine pounds, with location updates every two to three seconds and escape alerts.
Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.
The Chewy listing says the tracker is designed for dogs nine pounds and up and updates your dog's location every two to three seconds. That nine-pound floor matches the DOG 6 on Tractive's own page, which is rated from 8.8 lb.
Tractive lists the DOG 6 at 1.4 oz and 2.8 x 1.1 x 0.7 in, rated IP68 waterproof, with a mount for collars up to 1.1 in wide. Battery runs up to 2 weeks with Power Saving Zones and up to 6 days without.
Skip the Tractive XL models for a small dog: the DOG 6 XL is 2.5 oz for dogs from 44.1 lb, and the XL Adventure is 3.5 oz for dogs from 55.1 lb.
- Who it suits: dogs from 8.8 lb to 20 lb whose owners want live tracking and escape alerts.
- The tradeoff: not made for dogs under 8.8 lb, and it needs cellular coverage to connect.
- Plan: required and not included; the Chewy listing says it starts at $5 a month with a 30-day money-back guarantee, and Tractive says you can cancel at any time.
- Price: listed at $79.00 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026, plus the required plan; Tractive listed Basic at $9 a month billed yearly or $6 a month over 2 years at the same time.
- Warranty: two years from purchase against manufacturing defects, per Tractive.
For more on the app, plans, and day-to-day use, see our Tractive dog GPS tracker review.
Pawfit Lite Dog GPS Tracker: unlimited-range tracker for travel

Lightweight, waterproof GPS tracker with real-time tracking, unlimited range, escape alerts, and activity monitoring.
Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.
Pawfit markets the Lite as the world's smallest and lightest pet GPS tracker, and the Chewy listing calls it perfect for smaller breeds. The listing describes real-time GPS tracking with unlimited range across North America, Europe, and beyond, plus escape alerts, activity monitoring, and a built-in LED light.
The listing also calls it lightweight and waterproof. Pawfit's product page rates the Lite IP68, to 3 m for 30 minutes, and lists an 18-month warranty on trackers bought from its site.
Pawfit lists the Lite at 17.6 g (0.6 oz) and 41.5 x 25 x 13.8 mm, for small dogs over 5.9 lb. That beats Petcube's 29 g, though the Fi Mini lists 16 g. The catch is battery: Pawfit rates it at up to 3 days.
- Who it suits: owners who want a low device price and tracking that works across borders.
- The tradeoff: up to 3 days per charge, one of the shortest battery figures here, plus a separate plan.
- Plan: not included in the tracker price; the Pawfit 3 page listed Basic at $7.99 a month and Premium at $8.99 a month, billed yearly, when we checked in October 2026; Pawfit publishes no Lite-specific price.
- Price: listed at $49.00 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026, with the plan extra.
Petcube Dog GPS Tracker & Activity Monitor: light tracker in a mount-anywhere case

29-gram GPS tracker with virtual fences and activity monitoring that mounts on any collar or harness.
Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.
Petcube publishes a weight of 29 g, at 60 x 25 x 20 mm. By the 1 percent rule, that suits dogs from about 6.5 lb, below Tractive's 8.8 lb floor.
The tracker slides into a stretchy, glow-in-the-dark silicone case with loops that mount on any type of collar or harness. Its strap is rated for 70 lb of pull, and Petcube gives IP68 or IP67 in different places. The Chewy listing adds location tracking, virtual fences, a built-in beeper and light, and activity and wellness monitoring in the Petcube app.
The plan is not optional. Petcube says the tracker needs an active paid subscription because it sends GPS data over cellular networks, with Basic listed at $12 a month or $84 a year and Premium at $96 a year in October 2026. Battery is listed at up to 30 days in low power mode, a best-case figure.
- Who it suits: dogs from about 6.5 lb whose owners want a case that mounts on any collar or harness.
- The tradeoff: the plan is required, and there is no subscription-free mode.
- Price: listed at $39.99 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026; Petcube's own store listed $29.99 against a $52.99 list price at the same time.
- Warranty: Petcube lists a 1-year limited warranty, while its plan tables mention a lifetime warranty with an active plan.
Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker: best for a small dog and cat household

Rechargeable dog and cat tracker with built-in GPS and LTE data, checked from the Pebblebee app.
Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.
The Pebblebee is sold for dogs and cats, which makes it a practical choice when a small dog shares the house with a cat and you want both on one app. The Chewy listing describes a rechargeable tracker with built-in GPS that uses LTE data to locate your pet, checked in the Pebblebee app.
The Chewy listing gives no device weight, so weigh it on arrival. It does give these details:
- Battery: up to three months on a single charge, the longest figure among the picks that list one.
- Range: GPS over LTE data, plus Bluetooth that reaches up to 500 feet from your phone.
- Water: IPX7 water resistant, described as waterproof for occasional splashes.
- Alerts: virtual fencing, with a notification if your dog wanders too far from home.
- Plan: a 30 day free trial with purchase, and plans listed in October 2026 at $72 for 1 year, $120 for 2 years, or $144 for 3 years, an average of $6, $5, or $4 a month.
If the cat is the main concern, our best cat GPS trackers guide looks at trackers chosen for cats.
- Who it suits: mixed dog and cat homes that want one tracker brand.
- The tradeoff: no published device weight to size it against your dog.
- Price: listed at $66.37 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026.
Tracki TrackiPet Smart GPS Dog Tracker: lowest upfront price

Lightweight GPS tracker with geo-fence zones, speed and movement alarms, and location history reports.
Webvet may earn a commission when you click through to Chewy, at no extra cost to you.
The TrackiPet is the least expensive tracker here by a wide margin. Its Chewy listing describes a sleek, lightweight design with real-time monitoring, virtual geo-fence zones, speed limit and movement alarms, location history reports, and an activity dashboard showing distance, calories burned, and ambient temperature.
The Chewy listing gives no weight, battery life, or plan cost. Tracki's FAQ says its trackers use a built-in SIM wherever there is a GSM cellular signal, with the battery holding up to 3 to 5 days in non-stop live tracking. Confirm the plan terms before you rely on it for a small dog.
- Who it suits: owners who want to try a GPS tracker without a large upfront spend.
- The tradeoff: no published weight to size it against your dog, and no plan cost in the listing.
- Price: listed at $18.88 on Chewy when we checked in October 2026.
- Warranty: twelve months for manufacturer problems, per Tracki's FAQ.
Pebblebee's figures come from its Chewy listing and Tracki's from its FAQ; the rest come from each maker's own specifications, with plan prices as listed in October 2026.
| Tracker | Weight | Dimensions | Battery | Water rating | Plan | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fi Mini | 16 g | 42 x 30 x 12.5 mm without attachments | Up to 2 months per Fi; up to 3 weeks per the Chewy listing | IP68 | $99 per 6 months, $189 a year, or $339 for 2 years; 6-month minimum | 1 year |
| Tractive DOG 6 | 1.4 oz | 2.8 x 1.1 x 0.7 in | Up to 14 days with Power Saving Zones, 6 days without | IP68 | Basic $9 a month yearly or $6 over 2 years; Premium $10 to $5 a month by term | 2 years |
| Pawfit Lite | 17.6 g (0.6 oz) | 41.5 x 25 x 13.8 mm | Up to 3 days | IP68, to 3 m for 30 minutes | Sold separately; the Pawfit 3 page lists Basic $7.99 or Premium $8.99 a month billed yearly | 18 months when bought from Pawfit |
| Petcube | 29 g | 60 x 25 x 20 mm | Up to 30 days with Power Save Zone | IP67 or IP68 (maker pages differ) | Basic $12 monthly, $84 a year, or $120 for 2 years; Premium $96 a year to $300 for 5 years | 1-year limited, or lifetime with an active plan (maker pages differ) |
| Pebblebee | Not published | Not published | Up to 3 months | IPX7 | $72 for 1 year, $120 for 2 years, or $144 for 3 years | Not published |
| Tracki TrackiPet | Not published | Not published | Up to 3 to 5 days in non-stop live tracking | Not published | Not stated in the Chewy listing | 12 months for manufacturer problems |
The weight rule: how heavy a tracker can be for a 5, 10, or 20 pound dog
A GPS tracker for small dogs has to clear one test first: is it light enough for the dog wearing it? Tractive's FAQ says the DOG 6 suits dogs from 8.8 lb and sends dogs from 44.1 lb to the heavier XL models.
That pairing gives a workable rule. A 1.4 oz tracker on an 8.8 lb dog is about 1 percent of the dog's body weight. Tractive's heavier pairings sit well below that, at about 0.35 percent for the 2.5 oz XL on a 44.1 lb dog. We treat 1 percent as the ceiling, not a target.
Here is what that ceiling means at common small-dog weights:
- 5 lb dog: about 0.8 oz, or 23 g.
- 7 lb dog: about 1.1 oz, or 32 g.
- 10 lb dog: about 1.6 oz, or 45 g.
- 15 lb dog: about 2.4 oz, or 68 g.
- 20 lb dog: about 3.2 oz, or 91 g.

Set the four published weights against those numbers:
- Fi Mini: the Fi Mini GPS Smart Dog Collar, Black at 16 g clears the line from about 3.5 lb.
- Pawfit Lite: the Pawfit Lite Dog GPS Tracker, Onyx Black at 17.6 g clears it from about 3.9 lb, though Pawfit lists it for dogs over 5.9 lb.
- Petcube: the Petcube Dog GPS Tracker & Activity Monitor at 29 g clears it from about 6.5 lb.
- Tractive DOG 6: the Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker with Vital Signs Monitoring, Dog Collar Attachment, Black at 1.4 oz clears it from 8.8 lb, Tractive's own minimum.
A 5 lb dog is the hard case. It is below Tractive's minimum for every dog model and below Pawfit's 5.9 lb floor, and Petcube's 29 g is about 1.3 percent of its weight. Of the published weights, only the Fi Mini at 16 g meets the rule for a dog that small.
Size matters alongside weight, because a long device sits differently on a short neck:
- Fi Mini: 42 x 30 x 12.5 mm without attachments, about 1.7 x 1.2 x 0.5 in.
- Pawfit Lite: 41.5 x 25 x 13.8 mm, about 1.6 x 1.0 x 0.5 in.
- Tractive DOG 6: 2.8 x 1.1 x 0.7 in.
- Petcube: 60 x 25 x 20 mm, about 2.4 x 1.0 x 0.8 in.
- Tractive DOG 6 XL and XL Adventure: 3.3 x 1.9 x 0.8 in and 3.7 x 1.9 x 0.8 in, made for dogs from 44.1 lb and 55.1 lb.
Two practical points follow. First, Petcube's 29 g is the tracker itself; it rides in a silicone case, and the page does not say whether the case is counted. Second, for trackers sold without a weight, a kitchen scale settles the question in seconds, mount included.
The weight rule does not remove the plan cost. All four trackers with a published weight carry a separate plan: Tractive's listing says one is required, Petcube says its tracker needs one, and Fi and Pawfit bill membership separately.
Collar fit: attachments, harness mounts, and keeping it from flipping
A light tracker still has to sit well. The American Kennel Club measures neck girth where the collar sits and recommends the two-finger rule: snug but not tight, for a comfortable fit, since a proper neck measurement prevents rubbing. Fit the collar first, then add the tracker.
Next, match the collar attachment to the collar or harness you already use. Each maker that publishes its mount size gives a different limit:
- Tractive DOG 6: the Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker with Vital Signs Monitoring, Dog Collar Attachment, Black fits collars up to 1.1 in wide.
- Fi Mini: the attachment on the Fi Mini GPS Smart Dog Collar, Black fits most collars and harnesses up to 1.25 in wide; Fi gives the range as 0.375 to 1.25 in, on a strap at least two inches long.
- Petcube: the Petcube Dog GPS Tracker & Activity Monitor case has stretchy silicone loops that mount on any type of collar or harness, with 70 lb of pull resistance listed for the strap.
A mount much wider than its collar has room to rotate, which is how a tracker can end up hanging under the chin. A mount sized to your collar width, on a collar fitted by the two-finger rule, has less space to turn. Our guide on how to choose the right dog collar covers widths and materials.
A harness mount is worth considering for a dog with a very short neck or a narrow collar. The Fi Mini and the Petcube both state that their attachments work on harnesses as well as collars, which moves the device off the neck.

A breakaway collar is designed to release under pressure, and a tracker clipped to it goes wherever the collar falls. That is a reasonable trade for safety, but it means the GPS location shows the collar, not the dog. Read our advice on preventing dog collar accidents before deciding which collar carries the tracker.
Check the fit again after the first few days of wear:
- Two fingers still slide under the collar with the tracker attached.
- The device sits on the side or top of the neck rather than underneath.
- There is no rubbing where the mount touches the skin.
Puppies: growth, chewing, and when to start
The right time to start is when your puppy reaches the tracker's minimum weight, not a set age. The Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker with Vital Signs Monitoring, Dog Collar Attachment, Black is rated from 8.8 lb, so a puppy under that is below the maker's floor.
The Petcube Dog GPS Tracker & Activity Monitor does not publish a minimum dog weight, so the 1 percent rule is your guide: 29 g suits a puppy from about 6.5 lb.
Teething adds a second limit. According to VCA Animal Hospitals, baby teeth begin falling out at around 12 weeks and permanent teeth are normally all in by 6 months. VCA adds that heavy chewing seems to subside around 18 months but continues to some degree for life.

A growing puppy also changes collar size quickly, so the fit checks apply more often:
- Re-measure the neck where the collar sits, as the AKC guide describes, whenever the collar starts to feel snug.
- Re-check the weight band, because a puppy that was under the rule last month may clear it now.
- Move the tracker to the new collar only when the mount width still fits.
Your puppy's current weight drives more than the tracker choice, since it is also what portions are based on in our guide to how much to feed a puppy. A regular weigh-in serves both.
Getting used to a collar and a small device is one more new experience to introduce gradually, alongside the others in our puppy socialization checklist. Short, supervised sessions at first make it easier to spot chewing before it becomes a habit.
Subscription and battery tradeoffs on a light tracker
Every tracker here that publishes plan terms sells GPS service by subscription, and battery is the other tradeoff.
The Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker with Vital Signs Monitoring, Dog Collar Attachment, Black lists up to 2 weeks per charge, against up to 6 weeks for Tractive's larger XL models, so within that brand the smaller device has the shorter battery figure.
Tractive explains what the plan pays for. Its page says the tracker has a built-in SIM, like a phone, and that network fees are covered by the subscription. It also says cellular coverage, 2G or LTE CatM1, from one of more than 500 partners including Verizon, AT&T, and T-Mobile, is required for the device to connect.

Here is what each listing and maker showed for plans when we checked in October 2026:
- Tractive: required and not included; the Chewy listing says plans start at $5 a month with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Tractive listed Basic at $9 a month billed yearly or $6 over 2 years, and Premium at $10, $7, or $5 a month on 1, 2, or 5 year terms. You can cancel at any time.
- Petcube: the Petcube Dog GPS Tracker & Activity Monitor requires a plan, with Basic at $12 a month or $84 a year and Premium at $96 a year. There is no subscription-free mode.
- Pebblebee: the Pebblebee Dog & Cat GPS & Activity Tracker, Black comes with a 30 day free trial, and its Chewy listing gives plans at $72 for 1 year, $120 for 2 years, or $144 for 3 years.
- Pawfit: the subscription for the Pawfit Lite Dog GPS Tracker, Onyx Black is not included in the tracker price. the Pawfit 3 page listed Basic at $7.99 a month ($95.88 a year) or $4.99 a month over 2 years, and Premium from $8.99 a month billed yearly.
- Fi Mini: membership for the Fi Mini GPS Smart Dog Collar, Black is $99 every 6 months, $189 a year, or $339 for 2 years, with a 6-month minimum.
- Tracki: the Chewy listing for the Tracki TrackiPet Smart GPS Dog Tracker, Slate gives no plan terms.
The plan changes the real price ranking. The Tracki looks cheapest on the shelf, but its listing gives no monthly cost. For the others, the first year works out as follows:
- Fi Mini: listed at $189.00 on Chewy in October 2026, plus $189 on the annual membership, about $378 in total.
- Tractive: listed at $79.00 on Chewy in October 2026, plus $108 on the yearly Basic plan or $120 on yearly Premium, about $187 to $199 in total.
- Pawfit Lite: listed at $49.00 on Chewy in October 2026; if the Lite uses the same $95.88 yearly Basic plan the Pawfit 3 page lists, that is about $145 in year one.
- Petcube: listed at $39.99 on Chewy in October 2026, plus $84 on the annual Basic plan, about $124 in total, or about $184 paying $12 monthly.
- Pebblebee: listed at $66.37 on Chewy in October 2026, plus $72 on the 1 year plan, about $138 in total. Its 3 year plan averages $4 a month, the lowest published rate here.
Battery figures need the same care, because each is an "up to" number:
- Pebblebee: up to three months on a single charge, per its Chewy listing.
- Fi Mini: up to three weeks on a single charge, per its Chewy listing; Fi's support center says up to 2 months.
- Petcube: up to 30 days, which Petcube gives for low power mode.
- Tractive: up to 2 weeks with Power Saving Zones and up to 6 days without, on Tractive's page; the Chewy listing says up to 10 days.
- Pawfit Lite: up to 3 days, per Pawfit.
- Tracki: up to 3 to 5 days in non-stop live tracking, per Tracki's FAQ.
Treat each figure as a best case, and expect to charge more often than the headline number.
Is there a dog tracker that requires no monthly fee?
Not among the trackers here with published plan terms. Petcube and Tractive require a paid plan, Pebblebee lists 1 to 3 year plans with a 30 day free trial, and Pawfit sells its plans separately. Fi bills membership separately; Tracki's listing gives no plan terms. A Bluetooth tag avoids a cellular plan but works only at short range.
Bluetooth tags for apartment dogs
A Bluetooth tag is a different tool from a GPS tracker. Apple's AirTag page describes it as a way to keep track of items such as keys and bags in the Find My app. Fi says AirTags rely on iPhones to find items within a short range.
For an apartment dog that rarely goes outdoors off a leash, a Bluetooth tag can help with a narrow job: finding a small dog hiding somewhere close by. It is not a substitute for live tracking if the dog gets out of the building.

Before relying on a tag for a small dog, weigh these limits from the makers' own descriptions:
- Range: Pawfit puts Bluetooth range at up to 40 m, and Tractive's blog says an AirTag only works when an Apple device is nearby.
- Purpose: Apple frames Find My network accessories as a way to find your belongings.
- Chewing: Tractive's blog warns that an AirTag can be dangerous if chewed or swallowed, which matters for a puppy or a determined chewer.
The range and chewing points come from GPS tracker makers, which sell the alternative, so read them as competitor claims. Apple's own pages describe items, not animals.
Is AirTag or GPS better for dogs?
For a dog that could get out of the home, GPS is the better tool. A cellular GPS tracker reports location on its own, while an AirTag depends on a nearby Apple device. The tracker maker Weenect describes AirTags as unreliable for real-time or long-distance animal tracking. An AirTag suits short-range searches.
Why does Apple not recommend AirTags for pets?
Apple has not published a pet-specific statement. Its AirTag support page frames AirTag as a way to find belongings and says it should not be used to track people or property that is not yours. Its alerts also fire when a separated AirTag moves with a person, which warns that person rather than helping an owner.
Small dog GPS tracker questions
Frequently Asked Questions
How heavy is too heavy for a small dog tracker?
Based on Tractive pairing a 1.4 oz tracker with dogs from 8.8 lb, about 1 percent of body weight is a sensible ceiling. That is about 0.8 ounces for a 5 lb dog and 1.6 ounces for a 10 lb dog. Weigh the tracker with its collar mount, since that is what your dog carries.
Can a puppy wear a GPS tracker?
Yes, once the puppy is heavy enough for the device. Tractive rates its smallest dog tracker from 8.8 lb, so a puppy below that weight is under the maker's minimum. Petcube publishes no minimum, so judge it against the puppy's current weight, and supervise a teething puppy wearing any tracker.
Which GPS tracker is smallest?
Of the trackers with published specs, the Fi Mini is lightest at 16 grams, 42 x 30 x 12.5 mm without attachments. The Pawfit Lite is 17.6 grams at 41.5 x 25 x 13.8 mm, Petcube 29 grams, and Tractive's DOG 6 1.4 oz.
Do small dog trackers have shorter battery life?
Not always. Tractive's small DOG 6 lists up to 2 weeks with Power Saving Zones against up to 6 weeks for its XL models, and the 17.6 g Pawfit Lite lists up to 3 days. But Fi gives its 16 g Mini up to 2 months, so compare figures tracker by tracker.
Is an AirTag enough for a small apartment dog?
Only for finding a dog close by. An AirTag is a Bluetooth tag that relies on a nearby iPhone or other Apple device, and Apple describes it as a way to track items. If your dog could slip out of the building, a cellular GPS tracker is the safer choice.

Editor
The Webvet Editorial Team is the in-house group of pet-care editors and writers behind Webvet, operated by Smart Pet Collective. The team researches, writes, and maintains Webvet's pet health, behavior, and medication content. Every article follows a defined editorial process: research from reputable veterinary and scientific sources, careful drafting, mandatory review of medical content by a credentialed veterinarian, and dated publication. Health and medication articles are medically reviewed by a licensed veterinary professional before they go live and are kept current over time.

Veterinarian ยท BVMS MRCVS
Dr. Pippa Elliott, BVMS, MRCVS, is a veterinarian with nearly 30 years of experience in companion animal practice. Dr. Elliott earned her Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery from the University of Glasgow. She was also designated a Member of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons. Married with 2 grown-up kids, Dr. Elliott has a naughty Puggle named Poggle, 3 cats and a bearded dragon.
Related reading

SpotOn vs Fi vs Tractive: GPS Fence or GPS Tracker, and Which Dogs Need Which
